👋🏻 Welcome to The Grocer

Confirming your curbside pick-up order for CPG and DTC news.

Hello and welcome to The Grocer! Thanks for subscribing!

Introductions are in order, yeah? Ok, cool — I’ll go first.

My name is Sam Sherfey, and I am a ‘digital generalist’ from Baltimore, Maryland. I currently work for the world’s largest tool company, managing eComm Strategy for some of our biggest brands and retailers. Before that, I worked in advertising (small and large agencies) as a Project Manager overseeing everything from naming & branding to website development.

Somewhere along the timeline, I got hooked on DTC (direct-to-consumer) and CPG (consumer packaged goods). The products, the packaging, and the ad campaigns… they just kind of tickle something in my weird brain.

In the 1950’s, my family owned and operated a small grocery store. This was way before Kroger, Costco, Albertsons, and Publix. So anyway, I am quite literally a descendent of grocers, or people who sell food and small household goods. I thought the name of this newsletter was a nice little nod to the ol’ family tree as well as my interest in what’s new on the shelves.

And so, The Grocer is a personal project to document some of my favorite things from DTC, CPG, and beyond. From brand, product, and packaging design to retailer tech updates.

If you have any questions or just want to chat, feel free to reach out by submitting the form, here.

Again, thanks so much for being here. And, see you soon!

Sam Sherfey